Project 25 Technology Information Group

Monday, December 10, 2018

Project 25 Technology Information Group

The Project 25 Technology Interest Group (PTIG) held it’s Annual Meeting in conjunction with the APCO International Conference in Washington on August 16th. At that meeting, a Board of Directors and Officers were elected. A number of New Board members were elected from the Public Safety Radio User Community to fill vacancies created as previous members moved on. These include:

  • George Crouch who is the Public Safety Communications and Emergency Operations Administrator for the South Carolina Department of Administration, Division of Technology Operations. Mr. Crouch’s duties include administration of South Carolina’s Statewide 800 MHz Public Safety Radio System (Palmetto 800), communications interoperability planning, state coordinator for ESF-2 (Communications), and contract manager for the state’s communications. Mr. Crouch is the Co-Chair of the Project 25 Steering Committee
  • Cindy Cast who serves as the Radio Systems Manager in the Information Technology Service Department, Radio Communication Services Division of Miami-Dade County, . She is responsible for activities associated with the management, maintenance, repair, and uninterrupted operation of the telecommunication radio systems, including the 800 MHz/700 MHz P25 trunked simulcast radio systems. The systems serve over 30,000 radio users.
  • John Richards who is the Director of Radio Services for the State of Maine. He has been in that role since December of 2012. He manages Maine’s new P25 Public Safety Radio system. Previously he was Operations Manager for Yankee Communications in Benton Maine, a position he held for over 18 years.
  • Eric Linsley who is employed by Mobile County, Alabama, Commission as the Director of Public Safety Communications. Eric is the Department Head in charge of all Mobile County Commission Electronic Systems. Eric is Chairman of the Region 1, Alabama 700 MHz & 800 MHz Planning Committee and local frequency advisor for Alabama.
  • Tom Bowen who is the P25 Radio Network Administrator for Floyd County Government in Rome, Georgia. He is the Radio System Administrator for 2000 users on an APCO P25 based Simulcast network with 10 tower sites. It is a Public Safety network with the addition of public works and private agencies. Mr. Bowen also assists with Emergency Management rescue, CERT and amateur radio volunteers.

Other Radio Users returning to the PTIG Board include: Del Smith- Alaska ALMR, Brad Stoddard-State of Michigan; Brandon Diemer-BLM NIFC, Eric Davies- DHS; Karl Larson-City of Portland; Dean Hane MACC-911; and Jim Junkins-Harrisonburg/Rockingham VA.

The PTIG Board also includes returning Commercial Members including: Andy Davis-Motorola Solutions and TIA TR-8 Chair; Chris Lougee ICOM America and TIA PRS Chair, Jim Holthaus RELM and Chair TIA TR8.25 Compliance Assessment; James Reid-Harris; Cheryl Giggetts-AECOM; Neil Horden-Federal Engineering; Roy McClellan- Airbus DSC; Doug Chapman-Etherstack; Robin Grier-Catalyst; Sanjay Patel-IDA.

The PTIG Slate of Officers was also nominated and elected at the Annual Meeting. Chairman: Del Smith, Vice Chairman: Jim Holthaus, Treasurer: Chris Lougee, Secretary: Andy Davis. Stephen Nichols was appointed to continue as Executive Director for the non-profit organization.





Web Boy Design Website Development by Web Boy Design, Inc