Project 25 Technology Information Group

Monday, November 18, 2019

Project 25 Technology Information Group

Project 25 Technology Interest Group (PTIG) Elects a New Board of Directors and Officers.

The Project 25 Technology Interest Group (PTIG) held it’s Annual Meeting in conjunction with the APCO International Conference in Las Vegas on August 5th. At that meeting, a Board of Directors and Officers were elected.

New on the Board are Justin Evans, Radio Systems Manager for Montgomery County Hospital District TX; and Mark Ketchum, the Communications System Manager from the City of Broken Arrow OK. A new Commercial member to the Board is Jeremy Elder of Harris. Jeremy is the Product Line Manager for Systems Infrastructure for Harris Corporation. He possesses a Bachelor of Science in Mathematics with a specialization in Computer Science from Liberty University.

Departing the PTIG Board were Eric Linsley and Todd Perdieu. Thanks and recognition were extended to them for all of their service.

Cindy Cast from Miami Dade County was re-elected as the PTIG Chairman. Cindy serves as the Radio Systems Manager in the Information Technology Service Department, Radio Communication Services Division of Miami-Dade County, She is responsible for the management, maintenance, repair, and uninterrupted operation of the 800 MHz/700 MHz P25 trunked simulcast radio systems. The 800 MHz Radio system has over 30,000 radio users. Ms. Cast holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Management Information Systems (MIS) from Barry University and a Masters Certificate in Project Management from Florida International University (FIU).

The other PTIG Officers were also re-elected for additional terms. Jim Holthaus from BK Technologies remains as Vice Chair, Jim is also deeply involved in the P25 standards process as TIA Private Radio Section and TIA TR8.25 chair. Chris Lougee from 5x9 Communications remains as Treasurer. Chris was formerly a VP at ICOM and the TIA PRS chairman before forming his new consulting group. Most of his current focus is on P25 radio and network testing in his work for Compliance Testing LLC in Arizona. Andy Davis from Motorola Solutions remains as Secretary. Andy is also a leader in the P25 Standards development process as the current TIA TR-8 Chairman.

Cheryl Giggetts of CTA Consultants was ratified as a new Treasurer Elect. In this role she will spend a transition year working with Chris Lougee and is expected to take on the full responsibilities of PTIG Treasurer when Chris steps down In August of 2019.

Other P25 radio Users and practitioners returning to the PTIG Board include: Cindy Cast-Miami Dade County, Del Smith- Alaska ALMR, Christie Bielby-Texas DPS; Brent Finster-City of Stockton CA, Scott Wright-State of Connecticut, Brad Stoddard-State of Michigan; Brandon Diemer-BLM NIFC, Eric Davies- DHS; Karl Larson-City of Portland; Chris Maiers-State of Iowa, John Richards-State of Maine; George Crouch-State of South Carolina and Vice Chair Project 25 Steering Committee.

PTIG Board returning Commercial Members include: Andy Davis-Motorola Solutions, Chris Lougee 5 x 9 Communications; Jim Holthaus BK Technologies, Cheryl Giggetts-CTA Consulting; Neil Horden-Federal Engineering; Doug Chapman-Etherstack; Robin Grier-Catalyst, Dominick Arcuri-Televate, Karthik Rangarajan-EFJI-JVC Kenwood.

Stephen Nichols was appointed to continue as Executive Director for the non-profit organization.

The Project 25 Technology Interest Group (PTIG) is a group of individuals and organizations who share the mutual interest of advancing the refinement, development, deployment, and applications of the digital communications technology represented by Project 25 industry standards.

PTIG members include two-way radio communications experts, public safety professionals, and equipment manufacturers.   Our members recognize the need for, and have a direct stake in, the continued development of the critical communications capabilities represented in the P25 standards.

For Additional Information contact:

Stephen A. Nichols

Director, Project 25 Technology interest Group

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.





Web Boy Design Website Development by Web Boy Design, Inc